What base training sessions?

Johnpsanderson
Johnpsanderson Posts: 380
edited September 2007 in Training, fitness and health
OK - I have a bit of an idea what 'base training' is but want to get advice on how to actually do it. Here's a bit about me to explain:

I've been attempting to road race for the last 2 years with some (small!) success but don't feel i've really made the most of my training etc. Therefore I am looking to structure my training seriously this winter with the following races in mind for 2008...

3 x Mountain bike races in Jan-Feb (4hr races)
2 x road race series April-Sept (4th cats) and Jun-Aug (E/1/2/3/4) (1 hour races)
TT's throughout the season (a long sporting course in April but otherwise club 10's)
And possibly some cyclo-cross as well this winter...

I am keen to do it right this year so can give up about 15 hrs a week (if needs be!). I don't have a convenient club run but don't mind long solo rides.

What sort of sessions do I need to do for 'base training' and what should I avoid.?

How long do I need to base build for before working in speed training, etc?

Do I need a HRM and can anyone advise me of a particularly good model?

Thanks!!
Put me back on my bike...

t' blog: http://meandthemountain.wordpress.com/

Comments

• You've asked a very broad question (nothing wrong with that; except i don't have time to respond in detail). I would avoid, like the plague, just doing steady base miles where you ride at an easyish pace for long periods of time (which is the tradition in the off-season for cycling). all it will do is make you reasonable at riding steady for long periods of time.

You'd be far better off incorporating a fair amount of intensity, virtually the whole off-season. I can't tell you what you need, as i don't know your strengths and weakness (physiological profile).