400 miles in 4 days - Training Plan?

laurentian
laurentian Posts: 2,389
edited November 2012 in Training, fitness and health
Hello there

The Mrs and I have been cycling for just under 12 months. We started as she had entered us into a charity ride (she always commits to a physical challenge of some sort every year be that marathon, half marathon or ridiculous yomping across the country).

Anyway, we did 150 miles over 2 days in Scotland and both thoroughly enjoyed the ride and indeed the training for it. we were supplied with a week by week training plan by the organisers and I was very impressed how this took us from complete novices to being able to complete the 150 miles. In truth I think we could both have done a 3rd day of 70+ miles.

We have the opportunity to join some people on a coast to coast ride in May 2013 that, I believe, is around 400 miles. The others doing it are pretty experienced riders but I am confident that a similar week by week plan would enable us to hold our own. Can anyone suggest a source or know of a plan that could get us from our present 30-50 miles on a Sunday to being able to do four consecutive 100 milers?

Thanks
Wilier Izoard XP

Comments

• ShutUpLegs
    ShutUpLegs Posts: 3,522
    Do as many miles as you can on four consecutive days, rest for 2 days, then repeat
  • Herbsman
    Herbsman Posts: 2,029
    ShutUpLegs wrote:
    Do as many miles as you can on four consecutive days, rest for 2 days, then repeat
    That is absolutely f***ing stupid advice. Are you some sort of idiot? Where did you even get such a moronic idea from?
    CAPTAIN BUCKFAST'S CYCLING TIPS - GUARANTEED TO WORK! 1 OUT OF 10 RACING CYCLISTS AGREE!
  • Herbsman wrote:
    ShutUpLegs wrote:
    That is absolutely f***ing stupid advice. Are you some sort of idiot? Where did you even get such a moronic idea from?

Well, edumacate us!
  • laurentian
    ShutUpLegs wrote: