Trainer of Rollers?

peterw47
peterw47 Posts: 24
Looking at getting a trainer so I can jump on it for a few hours after work without having to get kitted up to go outside. Just wondering what peoples opinions are between getting a turbo trainer and the roller type trainer?

There are a lot more turbo trainers available than rollers which would suggest they are a lot more popular but I've only just started on a road bike so thinking the rollers maybe better for me to get used to the bike more than just training my legs?

Comments

• mattshrops
    mattshrops Posts: 1,134
    im no expert on this but i would think if your buying one of these products the place to start is a turbo. the versatility of workout types and intensity changeability would give it the edge imo. i think rollers are more leg speed/warm up/handling specific.

like i said im no expert and im quite happy to be corrected by someone with more knowledge.

p.s. you can get a turbo a lot cheaper- as a beginner theres enough other things to squander your wedge on :D
    Death or Glory- Just another Story
  • elgordo
    elgordo Posts: 13
    I'm thinking of getting rollers too. Am I correct in thinking there is little resistance and no way to alter resistance with rollers?
  • ut_och_cykla
    ut_och_cykla Posts: 1,594
    Don't get either just now - assuming you live in northern hemisphere and not in lappland or similar - you will very soon be able to get out on your bike at weekends and in the longer daylight evenings - so save your money, buy a good rain jacket and some neoprene bootees and get out there !
    (I have a turbo - well used this winter - but I'd like to have the skill /`& balance to ride rollers. I think I'd suggest turbo for newbie cyclists as rollers could be a bit demoralising!)
  • Eddy S
    Eddy S Posts: 1,013
    elgordo wrote:
    Am I correct in thinking there is little resistance and no way to alter resistance with rollers?