Struggling to recover from big gear/low cadence workouts

In order to improve my ftp I started to do some low cadence sub-threshold sessions a few weeks back - something I've never done before (the low cadence/high gear bit, not the SST) - and find it really hard to recover from these. The sessions I've been doing are at roughly my sweetspot level for around 45 minutes of work in total.

I find the sessions difficult but not ridiculously so (I felt worse at the end of the 4x8 'Seiler' intervals I was doing the previous six weeks). After these I'm unable to ride the next day and even two days later I feel wrecked, whereas with the 4x8s I could comfortably complete 3 or 4 hour base rides on the following two days. I thought part of the point of these intervals was that you could get the same level of muscular stress on the body whilst not taxing the aerobic system so much (and indeed my hr is relatively low for an effort that feels this hard).

Has anyone had any similar experiences? Should I have just started off with a lower volume of low cadence work or is this amount of fatigue to be expected? I think I'm going to ditch them tbh as I lose too much time being unable to train the subsequent days, but would be interested to hear others' experience of these.

Comments

• brundonbianchi
    brundonbianchi Posts: 689
    edited October 2020
    High power low cadence is a really bad move. It’s pretty much universally rejected as a training strategy now. It’s very bad for the joints and doesn’t bring anything to the party really. There are far better training strategies that don’t involve the joint stresses. It was something I used to employ, but I’ve seen / experienced the problems, and I’ve since ditched it.
  • webboo
    webboo Posts: 6,087