Forum home Road cycling forum Vintage bikes forum

Dawes Galaxy...

Hi all, I’m relatively new to bikes, I wanted something cheap and reliably, to that end I picked up an old Dawes Galaxy today for £80...
Im quite happy with it, usual knocks and scrapes but well looked after for its years..
I need a little advice on maintenance!!
I find the brakes a bit iffy...is there a place I can look for info on how to set them up?

Help with identifying the year would be really helpful...I expect to get some good use out of it.

Ray

• RayleesonRayleeson Posts: 12
    Ju
    st another full view of the bike

Ray

Can someone tell me what type of brake lever this is??
    What are they called??

Ray
  • oxomanoxoman Posts: 9,727
    Various names for the brake levers including crosstop or suicide brakes. Dawes galaxy is one of the go to audax or touring bike favourites. A lot of people upgrade them as things get worn out. Centre pull brakes are easy enough to adjust, if not sure YouTube and parktools are your friends. Suspect it's early 80,s model. Couldn't quite make.out if 5 or 6 speed cassette on the back. Probably worth checking rim thickness and possibly fit new brake blocks, various different block compounds to suit.
    Too many bikes according to Mrs O.
    If it was me id remove the rear rack, but keep it for later. If the bike has been stored for a while rather than ridden it might be worth checking innertubes and tyres for perishing. Noticed the bike was supplied by a well known legend. https://www.rourkecycles.co.uk/
    Hi guys many thanks for replying,
    Mmm suicide brakes....yup that’s a good description..
    Yes I’ve adjusted the centre pull brakes, easy job as you say
    6 Speed cassette....good enough for my old legs, don’t need to go faster...
    The brake blocks I need to renew...however I don’t understand what rim thickness is or how to check it...