Depression bad right now - what helps - Thanks

As the title says since lockdown my depression has gotten quite a lot worse.
Im a beginner ish cycling - did 4 months last year average 100km/week mix of easy and hard hills etc.
Started again about 5 weeks ago - did too much last 2 weeks 160km lot of harder efforts - so going easy again this week.
What is the best thing you do in terms of cycling for your depression ? 1 hr zone 2 every day , more zone 1 to be out in nature or more hills , intervals etc ?
Pre ride food , post ride food stretches etc anything that helps ?
Trying to get a plan together to maximize what I can do to alleviate symptoms without being burnt out from overdoing it.
Thanks in advance

Comments

• I think a lot of ppl will be in the same boat as yourself including me!

I think it’s best to just go out and ride. Enjoy it!! Don’t worry about pushing yourself, average speeds etc. Just go out steady pedal and enjoy the moment.

Try eat healthy and plan in a cheat meal and drink if that’s what you like.
  • pblakeney
    pblakeney Posts: 25,594
    Go out on a scenic route going fast when you feel like it, going slow when you feel like it. Mostly just doing what you feel like without over thinking anything.
    The above may be fact, or fiction, I may be serious, I may be jesting.
    I am not sure. You have no chance.
    Veronese68 wrote:
    PB is the most sensible person on here.
  • mrfpb
    mrfpb Posts: 4,569
    As above, but often I don't decide what to do with the ride until I've started. The important bit (and the hard bit for me) when depressed is starting.

• pblakeney
    Just to add to the above, leave the Garmin (or other) at home.
    Veronese68 wrote:
  • British Cycling have some helpful tips on their website.
  • navrig2
    navrig2 Posts: 1,833
    Do enough exercise to let the endorphins kick in. That will vary by person so you may get away with less or may have to do more.