SPDs on a road bike?

inkj
inkj Posts: 93
edited June 2019 in Road buying advice
I'm about to buy a road bike [for the first time ever]

I bought a MTB about a year ago [which in itself was my first bike in 10 years]

On the MTB I have SPDs [MTB clipless/shoes]

I was thinking of getting the same typr of pedals for the road bike [probably a Broadman 8.9 or higher]

The advantage being... I already have the shoes... I'm used to them... etc

As I said I'm new to this - so I was wondering what the disadvantages were. Are road bike clipless shoes/pedals a lot more effective in use? As I am happy to get a new <road bike> set up. I just don't know if there is any difference, and whether my plan is crazy - or much of a muchness

Thanks for any words of wisdom

x

Comments

• photonic69
    photonic69 Posts: 2,423
    They are absolutely fine.

Sometimes. Maybe. Possibly.

• figbat
    figbat Posts: 680
    Both my road bikes and my gravel bike have SPDs. And my MTB of course.
    Cube Reaction GTC Pro 29 for the lumpy stuff
    Cannondale Synapse alloy with 'guards for the winter roads
    Fuji Altamira 2.7 for the summer roads
    Trek 830 Mountain Track frame turned into a gravel bike - for anywhere & everywhere
  • inkj
    Cool

Thanks everyone...
  • animal72
    animal72 Posts: 251
    As above, Shimano XT and XTR pedals on my road bikes (and mountain bikes...)
    Condor Super Acciaio, Record, Deda, Pacentis.
    Curtis 853 Handbuilt MTB, XTR, DT Swiss and lots of Hope.
    Genesis Datum Gravel Bike, Pacentis (again).
    Genesis Equilibrium Disc, 105 & H-Plus-Son.

Mostly Steel.
  • Mad_Malx
    Mad_Malx Posts: 5,006
    The touring SPD pedal A520 has a slightly more road look. Some people find the bigger platform more comfortable.
    I can't tell the difference.
  • pblakeney
    pblakeney Posts: 25,805
    A520s on both my road bikes.
    Perfectly happy.
    The above may be fact, or fiction, I may be serious, I may be jesting.