Prescribed lithium and cycling

shiznit76
shiznit76 Posts: 640
Hi, long shot, but has anyone here been prescribed lithium by their doctor and how has this impacted on cycling ability? I know hydration is likely to be the main issue, is it ok so long as ensure that keep well hydrated thtoughout the ride? I know this is a private issue for some so PM if you would prefer to not bring it out in public domain like this

Comments

• webboo
    webboo Posts: 6,087
    This is something you need to be discussing with your consultant not seeking advice on here.
  • shiznit76
    asking for experiences not advice
  • webboo
    I have no experience of taking it but have worked with a lot of people who were taking it.
  • shiznit76
    did they cycle / do physical sports?
  • webboo
    One played Hockey at a high level. The others activity varied as did people’s individual doses of medication.
    This is why I suggested the discussion with your Consultant.
  • shiznit76
    cheers buddy. Will be asking them about it this week.
  • webboo
    I would be also asking about alternative meds unless you’ve tried others. Lithium works very well but it’s not usually the first choice these days.
  • shiznit76
    Webboo wrote:
    I would be also asking about alternative meds unless you’ve tried others. Lithium works very well but it’s not usually the first choice these days.

Yeah, tried others which haven't worked, that's why ended up with lithium
  • photonic69
    photonic69 Posts: 2,422
    I have both a sister and a mother-in-law that take Lithium. Unfortunately neither of them cycle so unable to comment on that aspect of it.
    However I can on the hydration POV. You need to keep very hydrated. MiL didn't/doesn't and the medication poisoned her due to build up in the body. She's better now than she was but still doesn't drink enough. Sister on the other hand almost over hydrates and is constantly off to the loo.