I hate hills but think I'm doing them wrong?

bongofish
bongofish Posts: 123
edited February 2019 in Road general
Hey all!

I'm fairly new to road biking but been MTB riding a few years. I would say I'm in reasonable fitness. 6 foot 2 and 75kg. I got into road biking while realising full sus mountain biking means I have to drive 40 mins to actual use it properly. And road biking is straight on door step.

So I've got myself a carbon framed road bike. Nothing expensive but seems to work.

My issue is I would like to class myself as fairly fit. Not super fit but not unfit but eveeytime I hate any hill I'm pushing and start to Bob up and down or do the chicken move with my head. I'm always waiting for the top to come and all the way up thinking....why am I doing this to myself haha. And then I get to the top and the flats and i love it again. My bike weighs 9.5kg which I know isn't super light but for £600 it seems good for a carbon frame. I think my issue is that I'm attacking hills with the want to not drop any speed so keep pushing as hard as I can and dropping gears and trying to get to the top as quick as I can. From watching some videos I think I should just be dropping it in a low gear and pacing myself and just deal with the fact I feel like a snail? It's like eveeytime I hit a hill I also hit the wall.

Any recommendations as I'm literally planning rides to try and miss as many hills as I can and just not doing them if it means lots of climbing hills.

Thanks guys

Comments

• pilot_pete
    pilot_pete Posts: 2,120