5 months pre season plan

nicleza
nicleza Posts: 30
edited September 2018 in Training, fitness and health
I made the decision to skip the last race of the season in October and instead start the off and pre season early. This year's race season started 4 of february so I will have around 5 months to prepare for 2019. So I am looking for tips, input and help with my training schedule.

I have never done a really serious cycling pre season and dont know to much about long term training plans. What differs me from many others (which most tips and suggestions are pointed to) is that I have plenty of time to put into training and I am ready to do it. I am studying and make my own schedule. 20-30 hours is do-able for me.

I am planning to put in Base training for at least one month, start next week. With long rides, 4 hours+. But what to do after that? When should I start with intervals and so on? As you see I dont have to much experience or knowledge about this.

I race at national level in a country thats not known for its rich sports heritage but many teams are professional (not mine) and a few have been in the Olympics. The difference in level of the best and the slowest in the peloton is. I am in the middle somewhere but want to become better. All races is stage races of at least three days and its always a lot of climbing.

Let the planning begin!

Comments

• Snd me a pm, I'll give you the names of some decent coaches......
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • Nicleza wrote:
    I am planning to put in Base training for at least one month, start next week. With long rides, 4 hours+. But what to do after that? When should I start with intervals and so on? As you see I dont have to much experience or knowledge about this.

Do intervals of varying duration (4x4 one day, 2 x 20 another day)

Perform intervals full gas / all out, i.e. at an intensity that you can maintain through all intervals without fading