Any advice for going tubeless?

scotthunter
scotthunter Posts: 140
edited March 2019 in Road beginners
Hi,

Please forgive me if I sound dumb as I am new to this.

I've just got a new bike (Giant Defy Advanced Pro 1) which came with Giant SLR 1 disc composite Wheel System with 25mm Giant Gavia AC 1 tubeless tyres. I am completely new to tubeless tyres as I had inner tube wheels on my old bike.

I went out for my a 10 mile test ride and there was no loss of pressure after the first ride, which is good.

The bike was set up properly at a bike store so there is ample sealant in there and they pumped the tyres up to 90-100 PSI in accordance with the manufacturer's recommendations.

I have heard that you are unlikely to get a flat tyre with tubeless, and if you do get a puncture the sealant will prevent the tyre from going completely flat, allowing you to get yourself home.

I think the vast majority of flats in the past have been a result of pinch flats after hitting deep potholes.

With tubeless, does this mean you don't need to carry a pump on a ride? I would prefer not to as I can't install my Leznye pump mount under the bottle cage on my new bike as it is in the way of the Ultegra crank arm, so I could have to carry a pump on my back, which I would rather not do.

If there is a puncture through the tyre wall, how are you supped to patch this up on the side of the road?

Any advice from people who have experience with tubeless tyres would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    I ride tubeless (mountain bikes) and have for years. I carry a spare tube, puncture kit and a pump, plus some tubeless 'worms'.

You are less likely to get punctures, but sh1t still happens.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123