Training Suggestions for a month off of the bike

Zrader
Zrader Posts: 4
Hey guys and gals, so here is the run down..

I’m in the military and have to attend a month long training event with no access to a gym or any training equipment.

I’ve been cycling off and on for 10 years, but back in December I got back into it pretty seriously, well, as seriously as I could.

My FTP back in December (12/17) was around 180 and now (04/26/18) I’m at around 250-260. Went from 220 lbs to 188. I’ve been doing around 100-200 miles a week recently and have 1500 on the year.

I’m looking for training suggestions regarding how I can at least sustain my FTP during the month that I am gone. Does anyone have suggestions and/or any experience with being off the bike for an extended period of time?

Thanks again!

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Take your bike/turbo with you?
  • Zrader
    Imposter wrote:

Not an option. It’s a field exercise. Living out of vehicles and tents with constant movements.

That would be a sight though, having my battalion commander walk in and I’m sitting there zwifting!
  • StillGoing
    StillGoing Posts: 5,211
    I'm ex Army and unless you're spending a month in the field, I assume your training exercise is residential? If residential, there must be a recreational gym or leisure centre nearby. Of course the hills phase of the Aptitude test is 3-4 weeks, but then if that was what you're doing, having no access to a gym or exercise equipment would be the last of your worries.
    I ride a bike. Doesn't make me green or a tree hugger. I drive a car too.
  • imposter2.0
    Zrader wrote:
    Imposter wrote:

Not an option. It’s a field exercise. Living out of vehicles and tents with constant movements.

That would be a sight though, having my battalion commander walk in and I’m sitting there zwifting!