Lighter weight, or disc brakes, bigger benefit?

Comments

• naavt
    naavt Posts: 226
    ajdobbin wrote:
    Just to give some background, ive been riding for just under 6 months with a tiagra, rim braked aluminium bike at around 8.8kg.

I live in Cornwall so am becoming quite adept with riding hills, although sometimes the descents can be quite hairy on narrow, dirty country lanes.

I weigh 72kg.

Im looking at a couple of Canyon models, the Ultimate CF SLX with Ultegra 6800, rim brakes and weighing in at 6.7kg (in their outlet)

or

The Canyon Ultimate CF SL 8.0 Disc with Ultegra 8000 weighing in at 7.5kg.

Which bike do you think im more likely to get more of a benefit from? The lighter rim brake model, or heavier disc one?

Be interested to hear your opinions.

Have yet to find a bike manufacturer who revels a complete build TRUE weight. You're planning to buy from the same manufacturer (Canyon), so the weight difference from one bike to another goes the same way... Off.

If weight is important to you, bear in mind that the outlet Ultimates are version 8.0. Now think like this:

If Canyon says their Ultimate 9.0 PRO, with Campag wheels and Record group weights 6400 gr in size M (which certainly is off by some margin - and without pedals), how come an Ultimate 8.0 with Ultegra only weights 300gr more?

You have a 320gr difference from Ultegra to Record. Bear in mind all the other components!

You mention your weight but not your height. If you are a fit guy, with 72kg you are probably around 1,80. If you are that tall, you will probably need an L frame, so more weight on top of that.

Of course you are adding weight on both bikes, be it rim or disc, but again, if weight is your thing I'll advise you to not trust in manufacturers weight claims, more if you are comparing 2 different manufacturers, which is not the case.