Am I really so weak ?

SmittyBoy
SmittyBoy Posts: 4
I'm very new to indoor cycling (aka: spinning). Although I have cycled relatively long distances (150 km/day), I've never trained for cycling until this year (age 55).

My girlfriend and I recently did a 10 minute FTP test and my score was 211, hers was about 185. I weigh 74km, she weighs about 55 km. That makes her power to weight ration 3.3 w/kg; whereas mine is 2.85. She is a stronger cyclist, although we generally only notice it on the long hills.

This winter, for the first time ever, I am doing indoor cycling. My first experience in the "advanced" spin class was that I simply could not stay with the program. In order to match the RPM, I had to dial back the "tension", and so simply could not match the power ranges (zones) that I was supposed to be able to do.

How do I quickly build up the strength to be able to cycle "stronger" ?

Comments

• fat daddy
    fat daddy Posts: 2,605
    SmittyBoy wrote:
    My first experience in the "advanced" spin class was that I simply could not stay with the program.

err .. join the "intermediate" spin class ?
  • milemuncher1
    milemuncher1 Posts: 1,472
    SmittyBoy wrote:
    I'm very new to indoor cycling (aka: spinning). Although I have cycled relatively long distances (150 km/day), I've never trained for cycling until this year (age 55).

My girlfriend and I recently did a 10 minute FTP test and my score was 211, hers was about 185. I weigh 74km, she weighs about 55 km. That makes her power to weight ration 3.3 w/kg; whereas mine is 2.85. She is a stronger cyclist, although we generally only notice it on the long hills.

This winter, for the first time ever, I am doing indoor cycling. My first experience in the "advanced" spin class was that I simply could not stay with the program. In order to match the RPM, I had to dial back the "tension", and so simply could not match the power ranges (zones) that I was supposed to be able to do.