Improver which way now?!?!

woodbutcherer
woodbutcherer Posts: 18
Merry Christmas to one and all!!

Some time ago I posted on this forum asking for advice, at this point I was a complete newbie and in retrospect quite green to this sport.
The best advice I was given was to join a cycling club, the prospect made me feel very nervous, but I ignored this and introduced myself to Folkestone Velo Club. Well that was two months ago, I generally ride on Sundays with them on “No Drop group rides”, I found the pace quite hard to start with 17-22mph but over the past 3 rides other than hills I’ve been able to keep up relatively comfortably

I want to improve and become a stronger cyclist with improved hill climbing abilities, but I’m not sure how to train effectively, I go out on my own quite a lot and ride by “perceived” effort. I don’t own a Garmin or a Cadence Sensor or a HR monitor but I feel that if I am to progress then I should invest in all of these at least then I would have an idea of pressures I am putting my heart under.

Thank you

Comments

• What area do you want to 'progress'?
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    What area do you want to 'progress'?

Folkestone area, I think ;)

OP - do 3-6 months more of what you are doing and then re-assess. Given you've only been doing the regular stuff for a couple of months, I think it's all a bit too soon at the moment...

Unless you have a diagnosed heart condition, then don't worry about the 'pressure' your heart is under.
  • Matthewfalle
    Matthewfalle Posts: 17,380
    I don't own a Garmin, cadence sensor, power meter or any of that jazz and happily competed in Cat 1 and ride now with Cat 2 lads no problem.

Don't obsess about the technology and numbers - at the mo ride on feel, get some training plans in, enjoy it pane e aqua.
    Postby team47b » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:53 am

De Sisti wrote:
    This is one of the silliest threads I've come across. :lol: