Froome Vuelta salbutamol problem

Comments

• smithy21
    smithy21 Posts: 2,204
    edited December 2017
    I am no sports scientist but I struggle to see how he gets out of this one.

I understand he has to do a test to prove the reading could have happened by taking a legal amount of puffs on his inhaler.

What I don’t get is how you would do this as I assume he has never triggered the limit before. I mean he could have gone over the limit before but if he had and it had checked out then I guess they wouldn’t be in this position again now.

If he has not gone over the limit before in a career where more recently he has become one of the most tested athletes then I am struggling to see how they can replicate this in a test especially if it needs him to be ill or have 17 GT stages in his legs.

Disclaimer- I may be talking nonsense.
  • rick_chasey
    rick_chasey Posts: 75,647
    Pross wrote:
    thegibdog wrote:
    inseine wrote:
    http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/a-scandal-tony-martin-sounds-off-on-chris-froomes-salbutamol-case/

I amazed these days how quick riders are to condem other riders, I guess it's s reaction to the 'don't spit in the soup' attitude of earlier times. Martin calls calls it s positive test which is quite strong and technically incorrect.
    Need to take German riders in the context of Germany not showing the Tour for years because it was too doped up.
    Still, if you're going to claim to be leading the anti-doping struggle, it's probably a good idea to be familiar with anti-doping regulations.

Again, I think you're missing the point.

Is your point that he's playing up for a German audience? If so, do you really think it is how a professional sportsman should behave towards one of his fellow pros?