Any advice on cornering?

Yuwego
Yuwego Posts: 13
edited May 2018 in Road beginners
I'm still fairly new to road cycling and I feel like I'm understanding most things easily. I started clips and caught on almost immediately. My BIGGEST downfall, by far, has to be cornering. For some reason, my mind understands the concept of an apex, but my body just doesn't go with it. How did you learn to corner? Through pure practice, or was it some other method? Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Rule 1 : look where you want to go

if you follow rule 1, the rest of your body will do the work, but some tips to help it do that -

weight on the inside hand and outside pedal, with outside pedal down (ie turning left = weight on left hand and right pedal)

relax as much as possible - if you ride with your arms tensed it inhibits the natural movement of the steering that occurs as the rest of your body directs the bike. probably poorly explained

And if you want to break your mind, google counter-steering, but only if you want to make something you do naturally really difficult by overthinking it.
  • rick_chasey
    rick_chasey Posts: 75,661
    Yeah, stamp/press as hard as you can on the outside pedal - will feel like you're cornering on rails.

Else - look where you want to go, and job's a good'un.
  • meanredspider
    meanredspider Posts: 12,337
    Rule 1 : look where you want to go

Read the OP and wondered how to respond but this is great advice and applies to nearly all dynamic sports. Your body is brilliant at getting on with the job if your mind sets the objective. Keep your head up.

Build speed gently and it will all fall into place.
    ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH
  • davebradswmb
    davebradswmb Posts: 529
    Rule 1 : look where you want to go