Why are bike companies telling consumers that disk brakes are maintenance free?

ZMC888
ZMC888 Posts: 292
edited May 2017 in Road buying advice
I've been working on my own disk brakes for over ten years, first on motorcycles and then on mountain bikes.

Recently I have gotten into hardcore angry flame wars with new hydraulic disk brake adopters with new disk road, CX and gravel bikes. They seem utterly certain that their bikes are maintenance free, seemingly they have been told this by whoever, but in my experience this just isn't true.

Firstly bicycle brakes don't get as hot as car or motorcycle brakes so you'll need to remove the caliper to clean inside occasionally. Also you'll need to partially eject the pistons to give them a proper clean and stop them from sticking now and again.

Secondly the pads are prone to glazing especially if they are not bedded in well. Pads are also prone to contamination any oil can ruin them. After removing pads you need to align them properly align them to the disk. Simply holding the brake and tightening the bolts rarely works well you'll need a proper alignment tool.

When installing new pads you'll need to force the pistons back into the caliper body with a soft plastic tire removal tool.

Then we have bleeding. Over a year or two your brake fluid or oil if you are using Shimano will get old and discoloured and you'll need to bleed the system and replace the fluid.

Also you may need to true the rotors and clean them with isopropyl alcohol.

Yes disk brakes are low maintenance and work amazingly well in the wet, in fact I'd recommend them for nearly everything unless you are into having an ultralight climbing type bike. But I have no I idea where this zero maintenance sunshine and rainbows bs comes from. Like anything there is a cost in new tools and spares and a certain amount of time in a learning curve if you want to do your own servicing.

Comments

• imafatman
    imafatman Posts: 351