Oh **************

bompington
bompington Posts: 7,674
edited June 2017 in Road general
Well, I would be hoping that this should really go in Workshop but it's looking more like Buying Advice...

... decided to go the long way to work this morning. Heading off up the hill I was taking it nice and easy when a few tinkling noises from the back end were followed by the unmistakable sounds of a rear mech tearing off. Everything broke: seatstay, chain, rear mech, hanger, cassette even has a chunk or two taken out of it.

I have no knowledge or experience of frame repair services but I'm assuming this is beyond that: if anyone knows better then I will be delighted to hear it.

But overall I'm not that happy right now.
jqCZEOJ.jpg

Comments

• davesnothere
    davesnothere Posts: 620
    Sad times
    GET WHEEZY - WALNUT LUNG RACING TEAM™
  • fat daddy
    fat daddy Posts: 2,605
    you took a chunk out of the cassette ? .... the spikey thing at the end of the bike ? .... how fast were you going up that hill ... or of thin and expensive is your cassette .... I have never broken a cassette in all my years, worn them out sure, but I thought they were indestructible
  • darkhairedlord
    darkhairedlord Posts: 7,180
    Buff out with t-cut
  • shortfall
    shortfall Posts: 3,288
    Has the image been reversed or is the cassette on the left hand side?
  • vrsmatt
    vrsmatt Posts: 160
    Interesting left hand drive .......
    Giant TCR Composite 1, Giant Defy Advanced 2, Boardman Comp, Santa Cruz Heckler, Raleigh M-Trax Ti, Strida LT, Giant Halfway
  • bompington
    fat daddy wrote:
    you took a chunk out of the cassette ? .... the spikey thing at the end of the bike ? .... how fast were you going up that hill ... or of thin and expensive is your cassette .... I have never broken a cassette in all my years, worn them out sure, but I thought they were indestructible