Wheels for the mountains

JesseD
JesseD Posts: 1,961
edited April 2017 in Road buying advice
Off to Vamos in September to have a week riding in the mountains and given my build I am going to need all the help I can!

I am looking at buying a pair of climbing wheels to take as my current wheel selection will not be suitable (DT Swiss Di-Cut 65C's, Fulcrum Racing Quattro's, Shimano RS-11's).

I am after something that will be light but sturdy enough to carry my 82kg, preferably aluminium, clincher and with a wide rim, budget will be no more than £600 (ish)

Only wheels I am not keen on at Fulcrums as I have had some bad experiences with their wheels recently with the braking surfaces on the front rims pulsing under braking and the bearings failing after not a lot of use. Was thinking maybe Mavics or even handbuilt?
Obsessed is a word used by the lazy to describe the dedicated!

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Interested to understand more about why any of that current selection you mention will 'not be suitable'..?? They all sound fine to me. In principle, any functioning wheel will be suitable.

You mention your weight - unless you are 6ft of over, then you probably have weight to lose. Would you rather spend to lose 300g off your wheelset, or diet to lose 3000g off your bodyweight?
  • teebs_123
    teebs_123 Posts: 357
    JesseD wrote:
    Off to Vamos in September to have a week riding in the mountains and given my build I am going to need all the help I can!

I am looking at buying a pair of climbing wheels to take as my current wheel selection will not be suitable (DT Swiss Di-Cut 65C's, Fulcrum Racing Quattro's, Shimano RS-11's).

I am after something that will be light but sturdy enough to carry my 82kg, preferably aluminium, clincher and with a wide rim, budget will be no more than £600 (ish)