FTP calculation questions.

ben@31
ben@31 Posts: 2,327
Im new to powermeters and wanting to calculate my FTP. Ive read it needs to be 20 minutes max effort and Im now trying to find a quiet road thats long enough.

1) As long as I keep the effort up does the gradient make much difference? As one possible road starts to descend after several km by -1 to -2% ?

2) If I can turn around without stopping can you accurately calculate FTP by doing a "there and back" on the same stretch of road ?

3) Another road passes through a village with a poor road surface and a speed bump, if I ease off the effort for a few seconds will this alter the accuracy by much ?

4) More importantly how do you keep at 100% effort and not 95% or 90% ? I find I naturally slow down into my comfort zone and can always push harder.

Thanks.
"The Prince of Wales is now the King of France" - Calton Kirby

Comments

• sungod
    sungod Posts: 17,021
    the 20 minute test is only an estimate

far more important than ftp accuracy is consistency, you need to be able to repeat the test periodically to check what progress you are making, choose a test protocol and route that will enable this, stick to it

personally i prefer to test on a turbo or wattbike, but if you will do it on the road choose the safest route, if there're traffic/other hazards it'll be harder to keep focussed and stay safe

i wouldn't worry too much about momentary changes in effort, as long as your gearing allows taking the gradients without crazy cadence changes (efficiency varies with cadence) and you do any turn/whatever fast enough that you don't get any recovery time, just remember to keep it consistent each time you repeat