To buy or not to buy

Uncleiven
Uncleiven Posts: 150
edited January 2017 in Road buying advice
So, my beloved Scott Foil 20 2012 will be 5 years old this year and I've decided that I want a change (of sorts) - but to what I don't know.

I have an overall budget of 4.2k, which is either for a brand new bike entirely or, the other thing I've thought about doing is upgrading the Groupset to SRAM Red e-Tap as that is the only electronic GS I can use without having cables on the outside of the frame because the electronic cables wouldn't fit through internal frame routing.

My bike has already have several upgrades over the years to include full carbon steerer parts, Mavic Cosmic wheels etc.
Will probably get a black saddle to finish off the look as well.

AB39470A-B4EA-42F1-812A-95E80BBC9265_zpsyjpvv7ae.jpg

Electronic GS is a must (as I am a tech geek :)) and ready to take the plunge, the bikes I have looked at so far include;

Canyon AEROAD CF SLX 8.0 DI2
2017 Bianchi Oltre XR1 Ultegra Di2

I want something that looks pretty wow, but still has the overall performance you'd expect from a bike of that price range.
Doesn't necessarily have to be an Aero bike either.

Thanks for your help :)

Comments

• fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    Just get the etap and a new saddle then ?
    To me Di2 doesn't seem a major improvement - you still have cables - although they're electric and people DO have problems with those and then you have a battery element. I'm still old school - but all I have to go wrong are cables and they never do.

If you want electronic it has to be SRAM.
  • Uncleiven
    The other plus point of going down the e-Tap route would be half the cost of a new bike (for what I'd want), it;s just the thought of a new bike that has got me thinking... decisions decisions
  • teebs_123
    teebs_123 Posts: 357
    Uncleiven wrote: