Budget £3k, help me choose an Endurance Bike

Wallace65
Wallace65 Posts: 4
edited December 2016 in Road buying advice
I have been searching for the best bike in this range and needless to say it's very confusing to choose given the selection available. I am a beginner and do around 15 - 20 miles thrice a week. I am leaning towards Cannondale Synapse ultegra 2017 but then Specialized, Giant and Trek all have comparable selection. I am totally confused.

Any advice? Thank you!

Comments

• bmxboy10
    bmxboy10 Posts: 1,958
    Wallace65 wrote:
    I have been searching for the best bike in this range and needless to say it's very confusing to choose given the selection available. I am a beginner and do around 15 - 20 miles thrice a week. I am leaning towards Cannondale Synapse ultegra 2017 but then Specialized, Giant and Trek all have comparable selection. I am totally confused.

Any advice? Thank you!
    What on earth would prompt you to want to spend that sort of money on a bike when you don't know what you want and by all accounts don't need based on your riding profile.
  • fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    If you ride year round then get two bikes.

One for the winter months with full mudguards and at least 25mm tyres. Add reflectives and mount lights.

Something around £5-600 would be ample for that. Buy that now.

Then when you get to the spring start looking for your best bike. You may have a better idea for what you want.

What gearing do you use now - SRAM/Shimano/Campag ?

Do you climb or stick to the flat.

Are you sticking to 20 mile rides or planning on going further ? Even a beginner should be able to go further than 20 miles - you can progress quite quickly with cycling,

3 grand for a bike is a lot and despite what the marketeers say - I doubt you'd be able to notice any improvement on a bike costing a grand or so.
  • kirkee
    kirkee Posts: 369