Newbie + Tacx Flow Smart T2240 + Zwift

JoeK1973
JoeK1973 Posts: 9
Hi all,

Just got into road bikes after many years of having a MTB for the odd 20 mile jaunt here and there (but nothing regular). Lost weight and gained fitness since getting the road bike and want to keep it going through the winter and on the evenings when I can't get out there.

So I'm pretty set on the Tacx Flow Smart, seems a good trainer at a reasonable price. My question is - what do I need in order to get going in Zwift? Obviously the trainer, a PC, and Zwift, but what else? Do I need a bluetooth dongle or an ANT+ dongle? Do I also need a cadence/speed sensor? How important is having a HRM or power meter?

Hope you'll appreciate I'm new to this, sorry for the obvious questions but I'd like to know what I'm getting into :)

Joe

Comments

• Pretty sure you'll need the ANT+ dongle. Tacx do one with a cable connected if you have the lap top far away from the turbo. The turbo will output speed, cadence and power. The power is virtual but it's fine for training, you don't need a power meter. Make sure you keep the same tyre/pressure on the bike.

I like having a heartrate monitor but it's up to you, you don't really need one once you know your FTP. I use a magnetic resistance turbo with a speed/cadence sensor so I find it very useful (I also have used one for training for ages so prefer to have the data, even if I rarely look at it these days!).

Have a look at the Sufferfest app too, I'm a big fan of their videos for a more structured approach and they do have a couple of easier ones now to mix it up.
  • You will need an Ant+ stick, Zwift may well recommend a brand, TR do. I bought a generic one from Amazon and it works happily with Sufferfest, Zwift and Trainer Road.

I would probably look at some point on getting a cadence sensor as the Tacx cadence output can be something of a random number generator.