Durable tyres advice

Mossd88
Mossd88 Posts: 7
edited December 2016 in Road buying advice
Hi I've been looking for some new tyres (700x23) as I've had the tyres on my bike since I bought it and it's in need of some new ones(punctures becoming too regular).
I've never bought tyres so I'm new to the scene but from what I've seen continental gatorskins seem to be a favourite but I was looking for something a bit cheaper. Any advice :)

Comments

• gethinceri
    gethinceri Posts: 1,640
    Michelin Lithion2
  • kingrollo
    kingrollo Posts: 3,198
    mich pro 4 endurance.
  • fenix
    fenix Posts: 5,437
    GP400S but go up to 25mm if you can.
  • fat daddy
    fat daddy Posts: 2,605
    DONT GET Vitoria Zaffiros ..... just pulled the 3rd bit of glass out of another punctured tyre.
  • bbrap
    bbrap Posts: 610
    fat daddy wrote:
    DONT GET Vitoria Zaffiros ..... just pulled the 3rd bit of glass out of another punctured tyre.

+1, cycling buddy used these for a while, spent more time sitting on wet grass fixing punctures than riding. Seemed ok ish in the dry.
    Rose Xeon CDX 3100, Ultegra Di2 disc (nice weather)
    Ribble Gran Fondo, Campagnolo Centaur (winter bike)
    Van Raam 'O' Pair
    Land Rover (really nasty weather :lol: )
  • Schwalbe Durano Plus 25mm
  • daniel_b
    daniel_b Posts: 11,870
    Schwalbe Durano Plus 25mm

Bingo!
    Felt F70 05 (Turbo)
    Marin Palisades Trail 91 and 06
    Scott CR1 SL 12
    Cannondale Synapse Adventure 15 & 16 Di2
    Scott Foil 18
  • Alex99
    Alex99 Posts: 1,407
    Daniel B wrote:
    Schwalbe Durano Plus 25mm

Bingo!

Double Bingo!
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Durano plus raceguard from me too
  • ben-----
    ben----- Posts: 573
    > Schwalbe Durano Plus 25mm

That's what I was going to recommend but then didn't because of "… continental gatorskins seem to be a favourite but I was looking for something a bit cheaper" - they're about the same price, at a quick glance.
  • svetty