Beginners Mileage

Chrisj22
Chrisj22 Posts: 36
edited October 2016 in Road beginners
Hi all,

I'm new to road biking, only done a quick 10 min easy ride the other day testing cleats out etc, unclipping, clipping.

I haven't been on a bike since I was a teen (I'm 33 now), but it's a gorgeous day here, I have some free time, and I was thinking of going on a 7 mile round trip today. 3.5 to location, stop for a bit, then head back.

I think I'd be tired, but if I took it easy is this recommended?

It's not from a 'I'll have a heart attack' point of view, it's more working muscles etc that haven't been worked in years.

Cheers,

Chris

Comments

• kajjal
    kajjal Posts: 3,380
    If you take it easy assuming it is flat you should be fine. To begin with it is best to do routes around where you live as then you can easily cut a ride short if you are struggling. Once you get into it you will have no problems.
  • figbat
    figbat Posts: 680
    When I started cycling more seriously I spent some time mapping out various routes and loops around me, with the shorter ones for starters and longer ones to aim for in the future. It was useful to do the same routes over and over since it gave me an idea of how I was improving, which gave me the impetus to go longer and harder. Before long I was doing the longest routes I had planned and needed to go further. 7 miles on the road should be pretty achievable and will give you a feel for whether you want to go faster or longer in future.
    Cube Reaction GTC Pro 29 for the lumpy stuff
    Cannondale Synapse alloy with 'guards for the winter roads
    Fuji Altamira 2.7 for the summer roads
    Trek 830 Mountain Track frame turned into a gravel bike - for anywhere & everywhere
  • Thanks, guys.

I'll go easy. There's only one hill from memory, but I should be fine if I don't go gung-ho.
  • AllezAllezAllez
    AllezAllezAllez Posts: 207
    edited September 2016
    You'll be fine for 7 miles.