Training doldrums, sickness or psychosis?

Kryton57
Kryton57 Posts: 95
Whilst floundering of the back of a mediocre paced club rub yesterday, I had a bit of a chat with a fellow member who is inside the medical profession.

For background, I've been riding mtb socially for 20 years, picked up road biking 4 years ago for additional fitness in MTB racing - still the social kind - started serious short course & 24hr MTB racing for real in eastern & London series, and in the last 3 years have used periodised Friel principal/Trainer road plans. I have a busy IT sales Job and 2 kids - I'm 44.

Now, last year went well, top third finisher in MTB regional A's, top 10 in Regional C's. However though I can have good performances where I feel strong and finish about where I expect but then rock up to a easy 28kmph average club ride and can't keep up. Not always but sometimes. I?'m not doing many miles a week - 2x turbo sessions and 100k club road or an MTB race at the weekend.

Why do I have these embarrassing periods of non-performance?

My Dr friend thinks I'm a serial overtrainer with little thought of resting as I worry on such limited hours (6-7) a week I won't retain / build fitness. My view is that I don't see I'm riding enough to have abused my body, plus everyone in the club Peleton in front of me is in a similar boat or rides more than I do (commute for examples or is able to ride more).

I'd welcome some views & opinions.

Comments

• webboo
    webboo Posts: 6,087
    Kryton57 wrote:

Why do I have these embarrassing periods of non-performance?

Because you think it's clever to belittle mental health issues.
  • maryka
    maryka Posts: 748
    ^^
    no idea what he's on about. I'm assuming the title. Which you wrote as meaning "is it in my head". Yeah maybe.