Help - I've been really struggling, this winter.

PostieJohn
PostieJohn Posts: 1,105
edited November 2016 in Training, fitness and health
I've been riding for over 10 years, last year I rode 5000+ miles and made a point of riding through the winter.
A 40-60 mile ride with a couple of hills averaging 17-18mph is my standard ride, so I have a pretty good idea of what's going on.

Throughout this unseasonably mild December and my first ride yesterday, I've been absolutely battered on 'standard' rides finally rolling in, in pain, having 'blown up' 10 miles back.

The first thing to go has been the front of my thighs, feeling like they are burning through my bibs.

I'm eating and drinking ok, I think.
What the hell's going on?

Any advise, other than some time off the road, (no self control when around food at home!!) would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• I`d be asking my GP this question.
    Trek,,,, too cool for school ,, apparently
  • PostieJohn
    I`d be asking my GP this question.
    Oh blimey I'm a long way from that.

What can my GP tell me that you lot can't? :D
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    Is it possible your seatpost is slipping so your saddle's too low?

Brake dragging or rear tyre rubbing on a chainstay?

Hubs still spinning smoothly??
  • stretchy
    stretchy Posts: 149
    It has been really windy!
  • singleton
    singleton Posts: 2,500
    Have you noticed any changes in your physical fitness doing any other activity or just when cycling?
    If it's only when cycling, then I'd be inclined to check the bike as other have suggested. Do you ride more than one bike - this may help to eliminate the bike as a cause of the problem.
  • mrwibble
    mrwibble Posts: 980
    Could be very tight hip flexors, tight muscles just above the knee. Go get a sports massage, see what is happening on a muscular level. Wouldn't hurt to get one anyway.
  • Alex99
    Alex99 Posts: 1,407