Blind FTP test?

jjarz72
jjarz72 Posts: 6
I'm in the midst of a TrainerRoad base-build-specialty program for 28 weeks, getting ready to finish one block and kick off another with an 8-minute FTP test.

I'm new to this type of focused training - this will be just my 3rd FTP test. Last go around i had an idea of what my FTP was and kept a constant eye on my wattage. My objective was pacing and trying to make sure i at least matched my results from the first go around.

From what i have read it appears you should go for broke during these tests. Any recommendations on stat usage? Should i keep my eyes off the head unit, put my head down & gut it out, purposefully not bench-marking (and perhaps hindering my results?) Or do most people get a feel for their fitness and use the data accordingly?

Comments

• Personally I find it better to tune out all the stats and I look at the clock as little as possible also. I found I was targeting an outcome rather than finding out what I could achieve when I looked at the data
  • While it can be argued that having the power displayed in front of you will make you aim for a certain power I don't find that's a problem for me on a 20 minute test. I've done a few of these now so I know what my CP 20 is / was, I find having the power displayed helps ensure I don't go off too quickly and ruin the test.

Assuming I know there will (hopefully) be improvement from last test, I'll normally bring the power up in the first 5 minutes to just over last test (maybe as little as 2-3W), aim to increase slightly next 5 minutes, maintain for next 5 minutes, then for the last 5 minutes see what's in the tank, this normally means maintain for 2 minutes then, think of going all out, think a bit more...... then with 2 minutes to go obliterate myself. Then collapse.

Seems to work.
  • shazzz
    shazzz Posts: 1,077
    I do a 20min test rather than 8mins.