iPhone or Cateye?

Gabble Ratchet
Gabble Ratchet Posts: 17
edited October 2015 in Road buying advice
First post ... looking for some real world advice. I'm relatively new to road cycling, looking to do some proper training with the aim of doing some sportive type events next year. To that end I need a way of monitoring heart rate, cadence, and so on. A top of the range Garmin gps type thing would be lovely but is out of the budget, so I'm looking at two options - either buy some sensors for HR and cadence (e.g. the Wahoo ones) and link them to Strava on my iPhone, or buy something like the Cateye Strada. I've already got a bike mount for the phone, so the cost of either option works out about the same.

Plus points with the iPhone option is that the data would go into Strava, which is nice, plus it's one less device to fiddle with and I would have my phone with me anyway. Minus point might be if there are issues pairing the sensors to the phone, don't really want to faff about but if that kit works smoothly then fine.

Plus point for the Cateye is weight and size plus simplicity. It's also more aerodynamic than having my phone on the bars but that's not a major concern as I'm not exactly aerodynamic myself. Minus point is that the data doesn't go into Strava, but that's not the end of the world, it would still record speed and so on in the phone anyway.

On balance I'm probably leaning toward the Cateye option, just wondered what the real world experience of both is, and if there's another way I haven't thought of.

Comments

• StillGoing
    StillGoing Posts: 5,211