More 'no cycling' signs - can we fight this?

rubyhorse2
rubyhorse2 Posts: 23
edited September 2015 in MTB general
bit of background - i've been riding the local area where i live for over 20 years. I've always been respectful of others, opening and closing gates, slowing down or stopping for walkers, horses, etc. a lot of my routes involve footpaths, simply because there are limited bridlepaths these days and the interesting rides tend to involve footpaths.

i have generally not had any issues with walkers etc, can probably count on one hand the arguments i have had over access rights.

Last night i noticed more 'no cycling' signs and several new 'polite warning' signs for cyclists not to use footpaths in the area. Of note it did not mention horseriders...

Anyone else noticed more signs going up and why is there this vendetta against mtbers using the paths. The main argument seems to be damage to the land, i'd love to see some evidence on mtb tyres and to what extent they damage the ground compared to footfall. i'd say its more likely some old ramblers have complained about bikers again.

Seriously winds me up this, are there any groups that are actively fighting for access to routes, the constant downgrading of bridlepaths to footpaths, etc.

Comments

• The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    The signs have no legal effect, if its a footpath (or not a public right of way at all) you don't have a right to use it on a bike and the landowner can make a claim agaisnt you, if its a bridleway you can use a bike.
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • whats the deal with public footpaths then, if we are caught cycling on them what can be done?

The routes i take are either moorland paths or designated paths through woods etc.

whats everyone else view on footpaths, do you ride them?
  • tootsie323
    tootsie323 Posts: 199