Hi, can you help me put my gears back together please?

Spangledstar
Spangledstar Posts: 18
edited July 2015 in MTB beginners
Hi there, I'm a complete newb when it comes to fixing bikes but I'm having a go with my front deraileur.

However, when I took apart the bit where the gear changers are a little rubber screw like thing fell out and I don't know where it goes back in.

Also on the right hand side of the pics is another rubber plug like thing that fell off when I hit a bump and I have no idea where that came from. The bike seems to have been ok since then though. I'm more worried about the gear screw.

Hope you can help and thanks for any advice.

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    One on the left looks like the bung for the hole you feed the cable through.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Hi cooldad, thanks very much for replying so quickly. I'm afraid I just messed up. I went to investigate and I turned the bike upside down forgetting I had taken apart the gear changer. Very embarrassing but basically the thing has fallen apart. I think a little tiny clip that holds in the spring near the cable outlet has fallen off and also a larger spring appeared from nowhere which has now disappeared on the floor.

Is it possible for me to ride the bike with just the back derailleur functioning and also is it possible to just buy the gear changer part or do I need a whole new set of gear changers?

Thanks again, sorry for all the questions.

EDIT: I don't want you to do my research for my but is it possible I can just buy these and replace the ones on my handle bars and I'll be ok with the rest of the equipment?

Thanks
  • JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852
    Oops!

Why did you take the shifter apart?

Riding with just a rear shifter working is fine except the front mech will now be in its natural position and you'll be on the granny ring on the front.

All spares are available.