Conti GP4000, 4 Season, Gatorskins

2»

Comments

• turbotommy
    turbotommy Posts: 493
    Just my 2 pennies worth but I've been running gp4000's on my commuter for over 2 years without a puncture. Obviously now I've posted this I'm getting 1 first thing Tuesday morning but that's my own fault!

I run them at approx 120psi and check them for imbedded glass every now and again but they seem to hold up well on the streets of London. I previously used gatorskins on the same bike with the same wheels and I'd personally recommend the gp's out of the two.
    Cannondale caad7 ultegra
    S-works Tarmac sl5 etap
    Colnago c64 etap wifli
    Brother Swift
  • apreading
    apreading Posts: 4,535
    My front 25mm GP4000S has done 2 years and about 6000miles. Had s snakebite puncture once when I let the pressures get too low (probably 40/50/60 PSI max) and hit a huge pothole. Had a normal puncture once. It was flat when I went to go to work the other day but couldnt quickly find the puncture and seemed to be holding pressure so I cycled to work and looked at lunchtime. It wasnt another puncture, it was the previous repair starting to leak, so patched that up again. Looking in detail at the tyre, I must have dug 12-15 pieces of glass out of it - so it obviously did its job VERY well.

In that time/distance, the 28mm GP4Seasons has not had one puncture.
  • englander
    englander Posts: 232
    I've got to say I'm very impressed with the puncture resistnace of my GP4000s and I would buy them again were they not discontinued. The going price for the GP4000s II tyres is ~£30 each and that's pushing a bit too far above my £50 limit for a pair of tyres.
    Specialized Allez 2010
    Strava
  • jpower
    jpower Posts: 554
    DKay wrote:
    jpower wrote: