Formula 1: I don't get it

Comments

• meanredspider
    meanredspider Posts: 12,337
    mamba80 wrote:
    Sunny, a bit of water on the drying track and the xxxxing safety car is still out after 5 laps from the start, what a bl00dy joke :(

This about sums up much of what I read in the last few pages.

I've read a lot on these forums about the intricacies and tactics of pro road racing, much of it written (I guess) by some people who have done a bit of club racing in their time. Having done a bit of it yourself, you get some idea of what the pro end of the sport is about. And, with bike racing, you can pretty much buy the kit the pros are using which takes you that bit closer.

I'm a life-long professional engineer and I've done 60-70 car races. I'm in total awe of the cars, drivers and teams in F1. I was at Silverstone today with my kids. I absolutely understand why they started the race under the safety car - it took nothing away from the race and almost certainly prevented a big smash on the first lap. I was watching at Becketts where there was practically a river across the track. Becketts is one of the most epic corners in F1 - watching an F1 through there is mind blowing.

The cars are incredible. The complexity of the systems that mean they are delivering such massive power at such incredible efficiency (and generally, reliability) is stunning. You might not like it (it seems many cyclists are anti technology anyway) but it is incredible.

As for the drivers, they are equally amazing. There's a lot of crap talked about the drivers and, in particular, how rally drivers like Loebe are more skilled. I recently watched Loebe doing some rally-cross and he was pretty ordinary in the field. I'm not saying F1 drivers are better - but they are as good. And the modern guys need to use their brains: managing tyres, battery power, diff and brake settings and fuel, all within a lap - whilst pulling over 5G - and occasionally doing some racing.