Forum home Mountain biking forum MTB buying advice

MTB computer recommendations

stevo1s77stevo1s77 Posts: 46
edited January 2015 in MTB buying advice
I'm new to Mountain bike riding and being in the road for a while and I'm thinking of adding a computer to my bike, what would you recommend?

Thanks
Cube GTC Reaction SL - Green Black 2014
Cannondale Synapse 105 - 2012

• Chunkers1980Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035
    None. I find apps on smart devices much better.
  • Strava is good on your Smart phone but can hammer the battery a bit, Im using a Garmin 500 Edge with HR monitor and cadence sensor, gives plenty of performance data if thats your bag.
    Paracyclist
    @Bigmitch_racing
    2010 Specialized Tricross (commuter)
    2014 Whyte T129-S
    2016 Specialized Tarmac Ultegra Di2
    Big Mitch - YouTube
  • I use strava on my z3 compact and its a great app, and only takes about 15% battery on a 2-3 hour ride.
    I also use Orux maps to follow a pre loaded route which also works well.
  • Chunkers1980Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035
    A smart device doesn't need to be a phone these days. My mate has a watch type device that uploads activities when within your WiFi.
  • snowstersnowster Posts: 487
    Just inherited my wife's old iphone 5 seems fine with strava used less than 10% battery for hour and half ride so seems fine to me, also have a cateye velo wireless cycle computer whick it one of the best I have used
  • njee20njee20 Posts: 9,613
    The Garmin Edge range are excellent, and do one to suit most budgets. Smart phones aren't bad, but are bulky to have on your bars, and a bit vulnerable, not to mention expensive.
  • Dave_P1Dave_P1 Posts: 565
    Garmin Edge 810 if you require mapping, if not, go for the 510.
  • zntrxzntrx Posts: 27
    I use a Sony ArcS that I bought for £35 off eBay. ipbike app & in a topeak drybag. It has ant+ and I use it with Garmin hrm, cadence & speed sensors.