the correct way to sit on a saddle?

Stuart.M
Stuart.M Posts: 19
edited November 2014 in Road beginners
ok, so I'm relatively new to road biking, been mtb'ing for 15 years, mostly downhill so not a lot of sitting. owned a road bike for a few years which only came out for occasional rides and some charity events, but in July I bought myself a new half decent roadie, a bianchi c2c nirone7. since then ive really taken to road biking, and been pushing myself constantly, been able to achieve 2 gran fondo's on strava (82 miles) and one century (104 miles), however, I am struggling with saddle sores on anything over 30-40 miles.
I've done a bike fit myself, following copious amounts of research, and for the first 30-40 miles it really is comfy, after that though my ar5e gets really sore. its difficult to sit down on the saddle again after getting out, for climbs or a break, and find that I will normally get half a dozen sores each side on the soft tissue just in front of my sit bones (though having used a lot of chamois cream on my last 80 mile ride it wasn't as bad) which will then keep me off the bike for a couple weeks.
before I shell out a load on a professional bike fit, I want to see if there's anything else I can do. one thing I've heard is people saying the correct way to sit on a saddle, now forgive my noobness, but I thought once your saddle was set up correctly that was it (I do put pretty much all my weight on the saddle), but apparently not. so could someone please explain this to me? as with all things, how are we to know something unless someone tells or shows us. I'm hoping this change to technique will significantly help my posterior

Stu

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    You just sit on it. Whether the saddle is right, or your fit is right, is another matter.
  • cswitch
    cswitch Posts: 261