A Newbie to proper training

Tjgoodhew
Tjgoodhew Posts: 628
edited November 2014 in Training, fitness and health
Iv now been cycling for two years and have gone from a complete noob to a relatively decent recreational cyclist.

I have decided that in 2015 i want to start pushing myself further and start becoming a competitive cyclist. I have a few goals for next year and after a short trip away next week i want to start a plan to help me achieve these. The goals are :

Climb Mt Teide (7500ft) 1st week of Jan
Puig Major in under an hour - 1st week of Feb
Tour of Flanders - Easter
Racing Cat 4 and aiming to be competitive by the end of the season
L2P 24h in September

Looking at the timing of all of these i know im going to have to train hard for the next 12 months but i dont really know how to structure a plan. I am determined and actually looking forward to the training altho i may not be saying this in a couple of months time

I am looking at using TR for winter evenings and to use one of their plans alongside Sufferfest but im not a fan of the turbo and much prefer to be outside. Would i lose a lot by riding outside without the structure of TR ?

I was looking at 3x1hour sessions in the week, a long endurance ride on a Saturday and a short recovery ride on a Sunday. I was thinking about ditching one of the week sessions for a pilates/core/ weight session but would i be better just to focus on the bike ?

Any advice or pointers on the above greatly appreciated
Cannondale Caad8
Canyon Aeroad 8.0

http://www.strava.com/athletes/goodhewt

Comments

• trying to work out your training from such limited info is impossible, but given your training suggestion of 3 x 1hrs plus a long saturday ride, why would you need a recovery spin on sunday? you'd almost certainly be better off riding 'hard' for whatever time you have available on sunday.

if you're going to do some gym work, it should be in addition not instead of one of those sessions.

Ric