Garmin 1000 any good?

124»

Comments

• I am new to cycling but for the last 5 years have been walking using a Garmin etrex 30 which I connect to Garmin Base Camp to plan my walks using walking world to download routes. The route can then be sent to my etrex where I can edit them on an iMac. I have just purchased an Edge 1000 this I have also connected to Base Camp and can see no reason why I will not be able to download cycle rides, on the full screen of my iMac. Then use Connect after the rides are complete.
  • At least it will match Connect. I planned a route on the new Connect today and got a map like a letterbox to plan it on. No matter what I tried, I couldn't make use of more than half the vertical space on my huge iMac screen.
    Further to my last post you also need Garmin Express installed on your computer to update your Garmins. Strange that Garmin need Express, Connect and Base Camp all doing different things but hey ho guess they know what they are doing. However once you can master there odd way of doing things they do seem to work well, like I said in my first post Garmin Base Camp enables you in full screen to sort out a route to follow then download to a map enabled Garmin ie 800, 810 or 1000.
  • "Old" Connect had a full screen which was fine. New Connect, as you say, needs Express not only to download but to upload. I guess this is down to the wireless updating. It's not as user friendly as the old method. Old course upload, you simply got a message "Course uploaded to device". With Express you firstly have to fire it up and then you get some generic message about updating but it's not clear what update you're doing - you can only assume it's the course loading and not an activity downloading. Garmin's human factors department (at least in the sports monitors team) is either crap or non-existent.
    ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH
  • StillGoing
    StillGoing Posts: 5,211