Garmin newbie advice needed

sacredhart
sacredhart Posts: 95
edited September 2014 in Training, fitness and health
Hi
I just got my first Garmin, a second hand 705.
I am planning to use it to record my weekend rides + use the HRM/ virtual training partner on eening rides to train.

First question is does anyone have a link to some training sessions I could do in the evening using the HRM.

Second is what is the best software to upload the Garmin data to as I have read the Garmin software is shit. Can I upload to something else or do I have to go via Garmin.

Total newb so apologies for the basic questions.

Comments

• Garmin software is pretty good IMHO
    Pain hurts much less if its topped off with beating your mates to top of a climb.
  • hypster
    hypster Posts: 1,229
    I've only had an Edge 800 for a few months so not an expert. I've found Garmin Connect software okay and even the new interface that everyone has been complaining about. I guess it's a question of what you have been used to. I think Strava is an alternative if you want to investigate using that.

I have found setting up my own training workouts using Garmin Connect to be pretty simple. I just do 2x20 workouts and a HIIT workout with 10 minute warmup/cooldown and 10x20:40 sprint/recovery intervals. For the rest of my rides I just use the Garmin to log the ride rather than riding to any specific training plan. You can also use the Garmin Virtual Partner on your solo training rides.
  • So if I want to do a workout using the Garmin, can I dip into this mid ride?

I normaly ride from my house to a park in town. This goes through traffic so I wouldnt want to be doing the training session at that point but it would be nice to record the whole ride. If I go into the settings and start the training session once I am at the park will it record my ride to and from the park too?
  • Use the lap function.