Components for a winter bike....

J90
J90 Posts: 46
edited October 2014 in Road buying advice
So, I've recently decided on a frame to build a new winter bike around, a Kinesis T2. My main aim for the bike is that it's comfortable (it may have to tackle Belgium next year), I want it to be reasonably light but that's definitely the minor concern.

I've already got a Kinesis DC07 carbon fork and 28mm Conti GP 4 Seasons sorted for it and I've been researching (for quite a while now) different components in regards to comfort, looking at different diameters, materials, systems etc. and reading about rider's experiences with them. I'm not a newbie and understand the general trends people follow in an effort for more comfort, but I've seen quite a few that go against the usual advice, which is intriguing.

Basically, I'd like to get any opinions on choice of components. I know things like tyre pressures, bike fit, etc. are very important, but I'd just like to focus on components here.

Any experiences would be much appreciated!

Comments

• Winter components need the balance of being able to be replaced through wear or accident and being reasonably good quality to make sure you aren't riding a clunker.
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • marcusjb
    marcusjb Posts: 2,412
    One man's winter bike is another's summer bike - what sort of budget are you looking at?

Winter is tough on equipment for sure - but I run 6700, take reasonably good care of it all and don't have to spend masses on consumables (chains mainly).

What do you have on your other bikes?

Of course, the true answer for an all-weather bike is fixed wheel. Mine gets treated with no love or attention and whilst I only do about 4-5000km a year on it, it never misses a beat.
  • With a Ti frame I have gone for good quality alloy bars and stem. A carbon seatpost, but alloy would make more sense for a saddlebag if you go that way.