How do you deal with people overtaking too close

Comments

• I've not got to the end of this thread yet, I only started road riding this year but a few things have dawned on me:

1. Until I started riding I got a shock as to how much room you really should leave and I've probably got too close or impatient myself in the past. If a driver's never ridden on the road they won't know this.

2. HGV and bus drivers need to be guided more thoroughly when sitting advanced driving/HGV training. It's not always the gap but the wind and noise can really catch you out. Inner cities are probably worse but I'd say a good 20% of the busses I encounter get too close.

3. We live in England, it's full of morons, each time I go out (and not just on the bike) I pray I meet the less moronic ones.

At the same time I think cyclists can sometimes wind other road users up. I tend to keep a bit further from the curb to avoid gravel and drains but some riders I've seen when in the car do like to be in the middle of the lane. Also the two abreast.... Not an issue on a quiet lane with no cars but I've seen people with a couple of cars behind them still two abreast chatting away, cars unable to pass safely. For me that's inconsiderate, putting themselves at danger and giving cyclist a bad reputation.

Grumble done, I'm off for a brew.
  • diamonddog
    diamonddog Posts: 3,426
    MUTTER TW*T
    AND
    CARRY ON

is what I usually do when overtaken too closely.
  • secretsam
    secretsam Posts: 5,120
    I think it's a lot better now than it used to be. You still get the odd moron, but losing your rag won't make them any less of a moron.

It's just a hill. Get over it.
  • I've not commuted for weeks due to crappy weather but jumped back on the bike today. On the A40 between beconsfield and gerards cross a bin lorry passed soooo close it scared the crap out of me :( no need for that.
  • Bo Duke
    Bo Duke Posts: 1,058