2x20s, HR vs PE

SCR Pedro
SCR Pedro Posts: 912
Hey guys. I'm continuing with my training plan from my previous thread. That means a longer ride at the weekend, a tempo ride during the week, and also a 2x20 session on a gym spin bike.
I'm no newbie to intervals. I used to be able to do them on the turbo trainer, using cadence and speed, with a HRM, so it was a lot more controlled, and I could measure each performance against each other. Now I only have a HRM and PE. I get PE. I can do both intervals holding what I perceive to be the same effort, and the cardiac drift would roughly confirm the effort is constant.
Today, my HR was sky high (10bpm) higher, for what was a PE effort typical of 2x20 intervals. Numbers for reference:

Today
First 20: 176BPM (exactly 90% Max HR) (Max HR (196) field tested recently on a 15% gradient sprint)
Second 20: 180BPM

Previous efforts are usually no more than 90%. Last week saw me complete both at 165 & 170 BPM respectively. So a lot lower, but as much as PE would let me do to finish both intervals just-and-no-more.

Question: was I right to work at such a high HR, when PE let me complete both intervals? Should I have backed off, and paid more attention to my HR than PE?

Somebody is bound to ask about goals. They are eventually fast club rides, lighting it up on the climbs, and generally going faster over longer distances. Perhaps even racing, if I get fast enough. There is also zero chance of working with a power meter. I wish I could, but it's not going to happen. I am also sure people will suggest I am over thinking this, but I like analysis.

Cheers 8)
Giant TCR Advanced II - Reviewed on my homepage
Giant TCR Alliance Zero
BMC teammachineSLR03
The Departed
Giant SCR2
Canyon Roadlite
Specialized Allez
Some other junk...

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028