Aches and pains

renevat
renevat Posts: 56
Hi all
I've been riding for a couple of years now and despite having a comprehensive bike fit I still get a searing pain in between my shoulder blades after a couple of hours riding :x I ride mainly club rides, club time trials and sportives :) The actual pain is in the vertical plane between my shoulder blades and shortly after it's onset it feels like the area is bleeding, which it isn't and is quite debilitating, so much so that after a while I have trouble turning my head to look behind me :oops: which is quite dangerous of course. As I have some long distance rides planned for next year is there anyone out there that can offer solutions, advice or any sort of gen that might help me get over this :? Many thanks :)

Comments

• Smithster
    Smithster Posts: 117
    I'd go and see a good Physio mate. Your bike fit may be OK, but you may have an underlying problems from before you started riding, or from another activity totally unrelated.
  • SCR Pedro
    SCR Pedro Posts: 912
    I agree it's most likely a bike fit problem. I have also suffered the same symptoms, but my solution was to use a shorter stem, and lower the bars.

Out on a ride, I would suggest stretching once or twice an hour before you start to feel stiff. Stretching before and after a ride also helps.
    Giant TCR Advanced II - Reviewed on my homepage
    Giant TCR Alliance Zero
    BMC teammachineSLR03
    The Departed
    Giant SCR2
    Canyon Roadlite
    Specialized Allez
    Some other junk...
  • dw300
    dw300 Posts: 1,642
    Your bike fitter failed to do his job. Go back to him and if he's worth the paper his business cards are made of he'll sort you out for free.
    SCR Pedro wrote:
    I agree it's most likely a bike fit problem. I have also suffered the same symptoms, but my solution was to use a shorter stem, and lower the bars.