Help required - Total NOOB!

Tavish11
Tavish11 Posts: 18
edited June 2014 in MTB buying advice
I plan to buy my first MTB over the weekend (Rockrider 8.1) & wondered what essentials I should buy.

I'm assuming the obvious such as Helmet, Gloves, Pump, Puncture Kit & Multi-Tool but is there anything else that is required for someone that is new to the world of MTB'ing.

I would be grateful if people could help me out & point me in the right direction.

Comments

• mcnultycop
    mcnultycop Posts: 2,143
    You've named the essentials there. A pair of padded liner shorts or some bib shorts (you can wear them under your normal clothes) are a good idea tool. Bottle and cage or hydration pack are a great idea too. For shorts and hydration packs Decathlon are good,
  • Tavish11
    Thanks mcnultycop. Can you recommend any Helmets that I can consider buying.
  • mcnultycop
    One that fits. You don't have to spend loads. I wear the £20 On one MTB helmet.
  • I would suggest buying a couple of inner tubes rather than relying on a repair kit.
    It's quicker just to replace the inner tube and then fix the punctured tube at your leisure.
    (Plus, there is always a chance that you will get a puncture next to the valve, meaning that you will never get it fixed with a repair kit.)

Remember the tyre levers too - you may get some in the repair kit. No point in carrying all that stuff around if you can't get the tyres off!
    2007 Felt Q720 (the ratbike)
    2012 Cube Ltd SL (the hardtail XC 26er)
    2014 Lapierre Zesty TR 329 (the full-sus 29er)
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Chain lube.

As I may have mentioned once or twice before, I use Squirt.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • welshkev
    welshkev Posts: 9,690
    not essential, but maybe a camel back to carry all the stuff around in?

*I should read every post in a thread first :oops:
  • Tavish11