Complete newbie - UPDATE: new bike

johntheboy84
johntheboy84 Posts: 39
edited July 2014 in Road beginners
Hi all,

Picking up my first road bike tomorrow. Managed to snap up a carrera TDF on ebay. By no means up to the level of bikes some people have on here but just wanted a decent starter bike to get used to. Really looking forward to getting stuck into it for fitness as my calfs don't hold up from running these days anymore.

I just wondered if anyone has any tips for the kind of rides I should be starting out on as a newbie, distance and hill/gradient wise. I'm very aware I might try and go too ahead of myself and lose interest at the first hurdle. I used to go mountain biking when I was 15/16 and used to work as a cycle tech in a couple of shops so I'm happy enough with maintenance.

Also with the TDF if anyone has any advice as to if I should be upgrading tyres? Other than that I wish I'd got one last weekend.... As at the moment it looks like I need to buy a waterproof too!

Comments

• motogull
    motogull Posts: 325
    Give us a clue! How old are you and how fit do you think you are already?
  • diamonddog
    diamonddog Posts: 3,426
    Ride a shortish circuitous route near where you live then if you feel knackered it's easy to get home or if you feel ok you can carry on and do it again. Once you are confident in your own fitness and abilities you can start to get more adventurous, it won't take long. :)
    Wait until you get the bike then just ride it for a while before you start upgrading.
  • Thanks for the advice already :) I'm 29 (and intend to be for the next three years) and average fitness levels really. As I say I want to do this for fitness and to drop some weight/fat loss. I've just been sceptical as to how quickly you can drop weight with anything other than running but from what I've been told, road riding seems to push you in plenty of other ways!
  • simonj
    simonj Posts: 346