Upgrading 8 speed 2300 to 10 speed - Where do I start ??

Tjgoodhew
Tjgoodhew Posts: 628
edited May 2014 in Road general
My OH is doing the London Triathlon in August and I wanted to upgrade her bike from its stock 2300 8 speed to maybe Tiagra or 105 10 speed. I rode it briefly yesterday and I couldn't believe how clunky it felt compared to my Tiagra. The front shifting was awful

The bike in question is a Marin Ravenna - http://www.cyclesuk.com/49510/products/ ... -bike.aspx

It currently has a triple but as we live in Essex she hardly uses the small cog so wants to move to a compact double. This will also be easier for me to look after going forward

I am just after some advice and opinions on the best way to do this. I want to try and do it myself even though i am a complete novice. The plan was to try and pick up a full groupset and change everything which i think is pretty much my only option. Is it best to buy new or pick up something second hand ? Has anyone seen any good deals out there that they can point me too ??

The bottom bracket compatibility worries me so if anyone can hep here that would be great.

I also need a bit of advice on tools. I have the usual toolbox with wrench, spanners, etc.. as well as a chain whip and I know I will need tools for the BB and the chain. Anything else ??
Cannondale Caad8
Canyon Aeroad 8.0

http://www.strava.com/athletes/goodhewt

Comments

• markhewitt1978
    markhewitt1978 Posts: 7,614
    You can get a full Tiagra 4600 at Ribble for £240 which includes everything, even brakes.
  • Or full 105 for £299 at Merlin or Ribble.

I recently carried out a similiar upgrade (viewtopic.php?f=40004&t=12959215 viewtopic.php?f=40044&t=12961464) and I am still impressed by the new groupset.

I would recommend checking BB compatibility and also that your rear wheel is 10 speed compatible.

Toolswise, I was recommended the Jobsworth Kits from Planet X and I will pass on that recommendation, did the job excellently.
  • Tjgoodhew