my frames too big so how can i improve the fit

radiation man
radiation man Posts: 446
edited May 2014 in Road buying advice
im 5ft 6 and 31and a half inside leg, my frame is a trek 1.5 54 which ive been riding for 5 yrs now, and most say its to big for me, ive got the seat as far forward as i can although my seatpost is 20mm setback, i seem to be in the middle of the pedal spindle when i drop a plumbline from the bone just below my knee, but still feel my seat needs to be more forward, guess this is cos the top tube is too long, so guess if i change the seat post for one without setback it give me another 20mm to play with then just need to sort the bar distance out, shoudnt be too hard as i have long arms for my body, does this sound about the best ill acieve with the frame too big.

Comments

• Grill
    Grill Posts: 5,610
    No kidding, that's my size frame (5'11"). Honestly you need a new frame as any bodging is akin to putting a plaster on a broken leg.

If you really want to bodge then you'd need start with an inline post and very short stem. I really don't advise it as it will never be properly comfortable and will handle like a crack addicted greyhound.
    English Cycles V3 | Cervelo P5 | Cervelo T4 | Trek Domane Koppenberg
  • Have you considered buying a smaller frame?
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • Supergoose
    Supergoose Posts: 1,089
    Have to agree smaller frame is the only answer.
    Rock 'n' Roule
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Have you considered buying a smaller frame?

maybe a Colnago CLX....
  • darkhairedlord
    darkhairedlord Posts: 7,180
    Imposter wrote:
    Have you considered buying a smaller frame?

maybe a Colnago CLX....

In red and white
  • Supergoose
    Supergoose Posts: 1,089
    None of the plumb line chat but Im 5'11 pushing the big 6'0 and all my bikes are 54/55 certainly no bigger.

Smaller is better.
    Rock 'n' Roule
  • radiation man