What is all this move from 23 to 25 tyres all about?

CXrider
CXrider Posts: 141
edited May 2014 in Road buying advice
I am just about to get the only upgrade I will ever get.... better tyres.
I was just looking around on the usual online stores and I came across a few brands mentioning how their 25s are now the most desired choice and even the salesman down Berkshire Cycles mentioned it.

So, what are the benefits?
As a relative noob I made the logical conclusion that the thinner and harder and slicker the tyre the more 'performance' one would get out of it given the same power input.

Now people are saying 'get 25s'.

I can't keep up with all this changing goal post bollocks.

Can somebody please give me the final verdict on this before I regret my purchase one way or another.

Details:
This would be my Boardman Team on 700Cx23 Mavic Aksium wheels and I cover about 100 miles a week, give or take 20 miles each side depending on energy levels. I ride in hilly areas mostly around Surrey Hills and Berkshire.
I have some long mileage rides coming up in the summer so would likely wish to err on comfort and safety rather than pure outright speed and handling.

Thanks - always a great place for advice this forum.
Pedal to Paris blog at http://RideToParis.co.uk

Comments

• kim10
    kim10 Posts: 186
    I'm not really an expert but there have certainly been a lot of debate about this and I also believe some research to back up the claims that 25mm are faster then 23mm. No idea if this will apply to an amateur like myself. Have a look at this, which has some explanation on the subject, but there are quite a bit of information out there if you look:
    http://inrng.com/2013/04/reinventing-the-wheel-25mm/
  • lostboysaint
    lostboysaint Posts: 4,250
    You've answered your own question.

25mm is more comfortable than 23 as it's a bigger carcass so bigger air volume so you can run at slightly reduced pressures and have a much more comfortable ride.