Disc specific wheel rims ?

Red-Eye
Red-Eye Posts: 20
edited April 2014 in Road buying advice
Another Wheelbuild question, sorry but I'm new to this sort of thing.

Is it possible to use ANY 700c rim with a disc brake hub or does it have to be a specific disc rim ?
What is a good Rim/Hub recommend for this job, I'm looking at getting a light but stiff wheels but must be disc hub compatable, I'm around the 100Kg weight but looking at getting lighter, slowly ;-(

Cheers & sorry if this has been asked before.

Comments

• MichaelW
    MichaelW Posts: 2,164
    Disc rim lacks the machined braking surface and may* be lighter but you can use either.
    Most disc rims are "29ers", ie wider 700c for fatter tyres.
  • maddog 2
    maddog 2 Posts: 8,114
    Any rim will work but a non-machined sidewall looks better.

Some disc-specific rims are starting to come through slowly.

29er disc-specific rims are available but don't always suit road tyres so my advice is stick with road rims.

Good rim is the black or grey Archetype. Tough, handsome.

Hubs - Any decent MTb disc hub - Hope Pro2 EVO, Shimano, DT, Tune - depends on your budget and needs.
    Facts are meaningless, you can use facts to prove anything that's remotely true! - Homer
  • And then there is the coolest of all, finally available-ish... want.. :o

hed-bel-cx-r-650.jpg
    left the forum March 2023
  • kingstonian
    kingstonian Posts: 2,847
    Black Archetypes are what I am going with
  • And then there is the coolest of all, finally available-ish... want.. :o

What are those, Ugo, please?
    ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH
  • these are HED Belgium C2 plus Disc 25 mm wide... "only" $ 150 a piece plus delivery, import duties and handling fees... probably 250-270 quid altogether... not a lot more than a set of boring Pacenti SL... :wink: