Training for a 350 mile, 24 hour event

steve_kay
steve_kay Posts: 197
Hi guys. I'm relatively new to cycling and this site so please bare with me and excuse any stupid questions or comments. I'm currently serving in the Royal Marines and as part of the 350th birthday of the corps this year, the Royal Marines Charitable trust fund is holding a 350 mile event over the course of 24 hours. The event takes place in early August and is for charity. My fitness in general is good and I've had a few steady 30 milers in and around Devon which is extremely hilly. I'm after some advice with regards to training for such an event. I currently ride a 2014 Cube Agree GTC SL whith custom DT Swiss RR 440 wheels and weigh around 90 kg although I hope to be around 85 kgs for the event. Thanks in advance.
Steve

Comments

• Grill
    Grill Posts: 5,610
    You need to get in the base miles. 350 over 24 hours isn't much of an issue as long as you have practice at spinning your legs.
    English Cycles V3 | Cervelo P5 | Cervelo T4 | Trek Domane Koppenberg
  • Yeah I think once I'm used to time in the saddle over an extended period I'll find it a lot easier to cope with the miles
  • sub55
    sub55 Posts: 1,025
    edited February 2014
    Have a word with Mr Garry D. At the RN&RM CA
    constantly reavalueating the situation and altering the perceived parameters accordingly
  • MikeWW
    MikeWW Posts: 723
    Not tried this personally yet but if I was going to focus on endurance events I would be looking hard at ketogenic diets http://www.examiner.com/article/ironman-triathlete-ben-greenfield-high-fat-diet-can-aid-endurance-training
  • bahzob
    bahzob Posts: 2,195
    MikeWW wrote:
    Not tried this personally yet but if I was going to focus on endurance events I would be looking hard at ketogenic diets http://www.examiner.com/article/ironman-triathlete-ben-greenfield-high-fat-diet-can-aid-endurance-training